What Was (2023)by Vic DillahaySomewhat perturbed improvisations from years gone by.

About the Album

With the 10th anniversary of Curious Automata coming up in March of this year (2023), I think it's time to clear out the archives a bit. This is a collection of misfits, whose tone didn't match the projects for which they were intended. Also, in the spirit of moving on, all the tracks on this album are released under a Creative Commons Attribution license so anyone can use them as they see fit.

"Broken Tree" was improvised after my favorite shade tree was split in a late spring storm in 2017. It was previously released as a rough cut for my Bandcamp subscribers but it's much prettier and has been edited for time here. It still captures my somewhat perturbed mood as I waited to see if the tree survived.

Tracks 2-12 were all recorded during the two sessions for 2018's "We Were". Those were during the end of my marriage, so they were a bit of an art therapy project as I went through a divorce. For the original album, I decided to lean toward the positive tracks, so the remaining ones here have a bit darker tilt. It's odd listening to myself vent musically years later but I do find my angrier-than-usual playing interesting.

I hope you enjoy these moody leftovers, and thanks for listening.



  • Electric and Acoustic Guitars: Vic Dillahay

Track 1 recorded on May 18th, 2017

Tracks 2, 4, 6, and 8 recorded on March 30th, 2018

Tracks 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 12 recorded on April 19th, 2018

All tracks recorded in Fort Collins, Colorado.

All tracks released under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.


  1. Broken Tree (5:21)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11357
  2. Clashing Titans (5:47)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11358
  3. Broken Brothers (3:33)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11359
  4. A Lot, A Lot, A Lot (2:01)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11360
  5. A Lot Less (6:28)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11362
  6. Porch Swing (1:39)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11362
  7. Red Door (3:06)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11363
  8. Death Plan (2:40)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11364
  9. High Pressure (5:09)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11365
  10. Settled For (4:42)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11366
  11. Kind Folks (3:15)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11367
  12. Somewhere They'll Find Out Pieces (7:25)
    © 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay US‑DHM‑22‑11368

Technical Data

  • Label: Curious Automata
  • Catalog Number: 230123A (Digital and CD)
  • Released: January 23rd, 2023
  • Format: Digital and CD
  • Total Tracks: 12
  • Duration: 51:11
  • UPC (Digital): 756839548397
  • UPC (CD): 885007914754


Album Copyright

©: 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay
: 2023 Victor Carlton Dillahay